Harper Government Invests in Book of Remembrance to Commemorate the 200th Anniversary of the War of 1812

TORONTO, October 14, 2011 - The Harper Government today announced support for a new Book of Remembrance in commemoration of the War of 1812. This War helped establish our path toward becoming an independent and free country, united under the Crown with a respect for linguistic and ethnic diversity.

"The heroic efforts of those who fought for our country in the War of 1812 tell the story of the Canada we know today: an independent and free country with a constitutional monarchy and its own distinct parliamentary system," said the Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages. "The 200th anniversary of the War of 1812 is an opportunity for all of us to take pride in our history, and we look forward to taking part in the events and activities that will mark this important anniversary for Canada."

The City of Toronto will be able to create a Book of Remembrance that lists those who died at the Battle of York. The Book of Remembrance will include the names of the fallen, as well as their places and dates of birth and death, their service record, and a brief biography. As a physical entity, the Book will form the centerpiece of an exhibit to be mounted on a temporary basis at the City of Toronto's Market Gallery in the city's Old Town district in 2012, and on a permanent basis at Fort York. An online exhibit will also be developed for 2012.

"Our Government received a strong mandate from Canadians to invest in projects that honour our history and recognize those who paid the ultimate sacrifice in defence of our country," said Paul Calandra, Member of Parliament (Oak Ridges-Markham). "By supporting projects like these, our Government is delivering on its commitment to commemorate the 200th anniversary of the War of 1812--a defining moment in our country's history that in many ways has shaped Canada into the country it is today."

Over the next four years, the Government will invest to increase Canadians' awareness of this defining moment in our history. This will include support for:

  • a pan-Canadian educational campaign focused on the importance of the War of 1812 to Canada's history;
  • support for up to 100 historical re-enactments, commemorations, and local events;
  • a dedicated War of 1812 Monument in Canada's National Capital Region;
  • interactive tours, exhibits, and improvements to national historic sites across the country; and
  • investments in infrastructure at key 1812 battle sites, such as Fort Mississauga and Fort York, Ontario; and
  • celebrating and honouring the links that many of our current militia regiments in Ontario, Quebec and Atlantic Canada have to the War of 1812

The Government of Canada has provided funding through the Commemorate Canada component of the Department of Canadian Heritage's Celebration and Commemoration Program. This component provides financial support to initiatives of national significance that commemorate various aspects of Canadian history.

Details on planned activities and funding opportunities will be made available on the 200th anniversary of the War of 1812 website at www.1812.gc.ca.

You can now also download the official Government of Canada mobile application and browse the mobile site for information about the commemoration, key battles and heroes, and related national historic sites, as well as other interactive features that will be updated in the coming months in the lead-up to the 200th anniversary of the War of 1812.

For more information (media only), please contact:

Sébastien Gariépy
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage
and Official Languages
819-997-7788

Media Relations
Canadian Heritage
819-994-9101
1-866-569-6155
media@pch.gc.ca

Le gouvernement Harper investit dans le Livre du Souvenir pour souligner le 200e anniversaire de la guerre de 1812

TORONTO, le 14 octobre 2011 - Le gouvernement Harper a annoncé aujourd'hui l'octroi d'un appui financier pour la production d'un Livre du Souvenir visant à souligner le 200e anniversaire de la guerre de 1812. Cette guerre a jeté les bases de ce qu'allait devenir le Canada, c'est-à-dire un pays indépendant et libre, uni sous la Couronne et respectueux de sa diversité linguistique et ethnique.

« Les efforts héroïques de ceux qui se sont battus pour notre pays durant la guerre de 1812 ont façonné l'histoire du Canada tel que nous le connaissons aujourd'hui : un pays libre et indépendant, doté d'une monarchie constitutionnelle et de son propre système parlementaire, a déclaré l'honorable James Moore, ministre du Patrimoine canadien et des Langues officielles. Le 200e anniversaire de la guerre de 1812 est l'occasion pour nous tous de raviver la fierté que nous inspire notre histoire. Nous avons hâte de participer aux activités qui seront organisées dans le cadre de cet anniversaire important pour le Canada. »

La Ville de Toronto pourra réaliser le Livre du Souvenir dans lequel figure le nom des personnes qui ont perdu la vie lors de la bataille de York. Le Livre du Souvenir comprendra le nom des victimes de la bataille de York, ainsi que leurs lieux et dates de naissance et de décès, leurs états de service et une brève biographie. En tant qu'entité physique, le Livre se trouvera au cœur d'une exposition qui sera présentée temporairement à la Market Gallery du Vieux Toronto en 2012, et de façon permanente au fort York. Une exposition virtuelle sera également conçue en 2012.

« La population canadienne a clairement demandé au gouvernement d'investir dans des projets qui reconnaissent notre histoire et qui rendent hommage à tous ceux qui ont consenti au sacrifice suprême au nom de notre pays, a ajouté M. Paul Calandra, député d'Oak Ridges-Markham. En soutenant de telles activités, notre gouvernement respecte son engagement à souligner le 200e anniversaire de la guerre de 1812, un moment clé de notre histoire qui, à bien des égards, a façonné le Canada d'aujourd'hui. »

Au cours des quatre prochaines années, notre gouvernement fera des investissements afin de sensibiliser la population canadienne à ce moment déterminant de notre histoire. Voici quelques exemples d'investissements :

  • une campagne de sensibilisation pancanadienne axée sur l'importance de la guerre de 1812 dans l'histoire du Canada;
  • un soutien financier à près de 100 activités locales, commémorations et reconstitutions historiques partout au Canada;
  • la création d'un monument permanent de la guerre de 1812 dans la région de la capitale nationale;
  • des visites interactives et des expositions dans trois lieux historiques nationaux au pays, ainsi que l'amélioration de ces lieux;
  • des investissements destinés aux infrastructures de sites de batailles de la guerre de 1812, tels que le fort Mississauga et le fort York, en Ontario.
  • la célébration des liens qui unissent plusieurs de nos régiments actuels en Ontario, au Québec et au Canada atlantique à la guerre de 1812.

Le gouvernement du Canada a accordé cet appui financier par l'entremise du Programme des célébrations et commémorations, volet Commémoration du Canada, du ministère du Patrimoine canadien. Ce volet offre un appui financier à des projets d'intérêt national qui commémorent différents aspects de l'histoire du Canada.

Les détails des activités prévues pour souligner le 200e anniversaire de la guerre de 1812 seront affichés dans le site Web suivant : www.1812.gc.ca.

Il est maintenant possible de télécharger l'application officielle du gouvernement du Canada pour téléphone cellulaire et de consulter le site mobile qui contient de l'information sur les commémorations, les batailles importantes, les héros de guerre et les lieux historiques nationaux qui y sont associés. Le site contient également des outils interactifs qui seront mis à jour au cours des mois précédant le bicentenaire de la guerre de 1812.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements (médias seulement), communiquez avec :

Sébastien Gariépy
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre du Patrimoine canadien
et des Langues officielles
819-997-7788

Relations avec les médias
Patrimoine canadien
819-994-9101
1-866-569-6155
media@pch.gc.ca