Harper Government Honours Canada's Role in Naval Battles in the Commemoration of the War of 1812

BATH, Ontario, October 14, 2011 – The Harper Government is honouring Canada's role in naval battles in commemoration of the War of 1812. This War helped establish our path toward becoming an independent and free country, united under the Crown with a respect for linguistic and ethnic diversity.

"The heroic efforts of those who fought for our country in the War of 1812 tell the story of the Canada we know today: an independent and free country with a constitutional monarchy and its own distinct parliamentary system," said the Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages. "The 200th anniversary of the War of 1812 is an opportunity for all of us to take pride in our history, and we look forward to taking part in the events and activities that will mark this important anniversary for Canada."

The Fairfield-Gutzeit Society will commemorate the 200th anniversary of the Flight of the Royal George, a naval battle that took place between Bath and Kingston, Ontario, thanks to an investment by the Harper Government. The Flight of the Royal George 1812 Bicentennial Signature Event will commemorate the naval battle of November 9, 1812, between the British HMS Royal George and the American USS Oneida. The event will feature historical re-enactments, as well as music and theatre performances. The Fairfield-Gutzeit Society will also construct a stone 1812 Founders Monument to identify the site of the Flight of the Royal George at Centennial Park in Bath.

"Our Government received a strong mandate from Canadians to invest in legacy projects that recognize our history and define who we are as Canadians," said Gord Brown, Member of Parliament (Leeds-Grenville). "By supporting projects like these, our Government is delivering on its commitment to commemorate the 200th anniversary of the War of 1812–a defining moment in our country's history that in many ways has shaped Canada into the country it is today."

Over the next four years, the Government will invest to increase Canadians' awareness of this defining moment in our history. This will include support for:

  • a pan-Canadian educational campaign focused on the importance of the War of 1812 to Canada's history;
  • support for up to 100 historical re-enactments, commemorations, and local events;
  • a dedicated War of 1812 Monument in Canada's National Capital Region;
  • interactive tours, exhibits, and improvements to national historic sites across the country; and
  • investments in infrastructure at key 1812 battle sites, such as Fort Mississauga and Fort York, Ontario; and
  • celebrating and honouring the links that many of our current militia regiments in Ontario, Quebec and Atlantic Canada have to the War of 1812

The Government of Canada has provided funding over two years through the Building Communities Through Arts and Heritage program of the Department of Canadian Heritage. This program provides Canadians with more opportunities to take part in activities that present local arts and culture and celebrate local history and heritage.

Details on planned activities and funding opportunities will be made available on the 200th anniversary of the War of 1812 website at www.1812.gc.ca.

You can now also download the official Government of Canada mobile application and browse the mobile site for information about the commemoration, key battles and heroes, and related national historic sites, as well as other interactive features that will be updated in the coming months in the lead-up to the 200th anniversary of the War of 1812.

For more information (media only), please contact:

Sébastien Gariépy
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage
and Official Languages
819-997-7788

Media Relations
Canadian Heritage
819-994-9101
1-866-569-6155
media@pch.gc.ca

Le gouvernement Harper souligne le rôle joué par le Canada dans les batailles navales à l'occasion de la commémoration de la guerre de 1812

BATH (Ontario), le 14 octobre 2011 – Le gouvernement Harper souligne le rôle joué par le Canada dans les batailles navales à l'occasion de la commémoration de la guerre de 1812. Cette guerre a jeté les bases de ce qu'allait devenir le Canada, c'est-à-dire un pays indépendant et libre, uni sous la Couronne et respectueux de sa diversité linguistique et ethnique.

« Les efforts héroïques de ceux qui se sont battus pour notre pays durant la guerre de 1812 ont façonné l'histoire du Canada tel que nous le connaissons aujourd'hui : un pays libre et indépendant, doté d'une monarchie constitutionnelle et de son propre système parlementaire, a déclaré l'honorable James Moore, ministre du Patrimoine canadien et des Langues officielles. Le 200e anniversaire de la guerre de 1812 est l'occasion pour nous tous de raviver la fierté que nous inspire notre histoire. Nous avons hâte de participer aux activités qui seront organisées dans le cadre de cet anniversaire important pour le Canada. »

La Fairfield Gutzeit Society célébrera le 200e anniversaire de l'échappée du Royal George, une bataille navale qui s'est déroulée entre Bath et Kingston, en Ontario, grâce à un investissement du gouvernement Harper. Les célébrations du 200e anniversaire de l'échappée du Royal George commémoreront la bataille navale du 9 novembre 1812 entre le navire britannique NSM Royal George et le navire américain USS Oneida. Parmi les activités, mentionnons des reconstitutions historiques ainsi que des représentations théâtrales et musicales. La Société prévoit aussi ériger un monument de pierre au parc Centennial à Bath pour indiquer le lieu de l'échappée du Royal George.

« La population canadienne a clairement demandé au gouvernement d'investir dans des projets qui mettent notre histoire en valeur et contribuent à définir la société canadienne, a ajouté M. Gord Brown, député de Leeds-Grenville. En soutenant de telles activités, notre gouvernement respecte son engagement à souligner le 200e anniversaire de la guerre de 1812, un moment clé de notre histoire qui, à bien des égards, a façonné le Canada d'aujourd'hui. »

Au cours des quatre prochaines années, notre gouvernement fera des investissements afin de sensibiliser la population canadienne à ce moment déterminant de notre histoire. Voici quelques exemples d'investissements :

  • une campagne de sensibilisation pancanadienne axée sur l'importance de la guerre de 1812 dans l'histoire du Canada;
  • un soutien financier à près de 100 activités locales, commémorations et reconstitutions historiques partout au Canada;
  • la création d'un monument permanent de la guerre de 1812 dans la région de la capitale nationale;
  • des visites interactives et des expositions dans trois lieux historiques nationaux au pays, ainsi que l'amélioration de ces lieux;
  • des investissements destinés aux infrastructures de sites de batailles de la guerre de 1812, tels que le fort Mississauga et le fort York, en Ontario.
  • la célébration des liens qui unissent plusieurs de nos régiments actuels en Ontario, au Québec et au Canada atlantique à la guerre de 1812.

Le gouvernement du Canada a accordé cet appui financier sur deux ans par l'entremise du programme Développement des communautés par le biais des arts et du patrimoine du ministère du Patrimoine canadien. Ce programme vise à offrir aux Canadiens davantage d'occasions de participer à des activités qui mettent en évidence les arts et la culture de la scène locale ou qui célèbrent l'histoire et le patrimoine d'une région.

Les détails des activités prévues pour souligner le 200e anniversaire de la guerre de 1812 seront affichés dans le site Web suivant : www.1812.gc.ca.

Il est maintenant possible de télécharger l'application officielle du gouvernement du Canada pour téléphone cellulaire et de consulter le site mobile qui contient de l'information sur les commémorations, les batailles importantes, les héros de guerre et les lieux historiques nationaux qui y sont associés. Le site contient également des outils interactifs qui seront mis à jour au cours des mois précédant le 200e anniversaire de la guerre de 1812.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements (médias seulement), communiquez avec :

Sébastien Gariépy
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre du Patrimoine canadien
et des Langues officielles
819-997-7788

Relations avec les médias
Patrimoine canadien
819-994-9101
1-866-569-6155
media@pch.gc.ca