Harper Government Invests in Commemorations of the 200th Anniversary of the War of 1812

GANANOQUE, Ontario, November 18, 2011 - The Lions Club of Gananoque will be able to commemorate the raid of Gananoque and the fight for Canada, thanks to an investment from the Government of Canada. This was announced today by Gord Brown, Member of Parliament (Leeds-Grenville), on behalf of the Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages.

The 200th Anniversary of the War of 1812 is significant for the Town of Gananoque as its founder, Joel Stone, was a colonel in the Loyalist British Army and defended the town and the area against the American invasion during the war.

With this funding, the Lions Club of Gananoque will present the community commemoration Celebrating Our Roots - Where It All Began. Activities will include historical re-enactments, musical and theatrical performances, and a heritage walk by local artists and historical heritage performers. In addition to this celebration, the Lions Club is constructing a pedestrian gateway to Joel Stone Heritage Park.

"Our Government received a strong mandate from Canadians to celebrate important milestones like the 200th anniversary of the War of 1812, the fight for Canada" said Minister Moore. "By supporting this commemoration, our Government is delivering on its commitment to strengthen our economy and support our culture and heritage."

"Projects that commemorate important events in our history are wonderful opportunities for Canadians to come together and take pride in Canada," said Mr. Brown. "The investment will enable this community to share a defining moment that shaped our nation with their fellow Canadians."

"The commemoration of the War of 1812 Bicentennial is an opportunity for the citizens of the Gananoque-1000 Islands area to celebrate their heritage, stimulate an interest in their history, and bring patriotism and nationalism into focus," said John McLeod, Lions Club of Gananoque Director. "It will also provide an opportunity for the local economy, which in recent years has seen several industries shut down, to be stimulated by tourism and showcase community initiatives."

The Government of Canada has provided funding of $96,620 over two years through the Building Communities Through Arts and Heritage program of the Department of Canadian Heritage. This program provides Canadians with more opportunities to take part in activities that present local arts and culture and celebrate local history and heritage.

Details on planned activities and funding opportunities will be made available on the website for the 200th anniversary of the War of 1812 at www.1812.gc.ca.

You can now download the official Government of Canada mobile application and browse the mobile site for information about the commemoration, key battles and heroes, and related national historic sites, as well as other interactive features that will be updated in the coming months in the lead-up to the 200th anniversary of the War of 1812.
 

For more information (media only), please contact:

Sébastien Gariépy
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage
and Official Languages
819-997-7788

Media Relations
Canadian Heritage
819-994-9101
1-866-569-6155
media@pch.gc.ca

Le gouvernement Harper investit dans les célébrations du 200e anniversaire de la guerre de 1812

GANANOQUE (Ontario), le 18 novembre 2011 - Le Lions Club de Gananoque pourra commémorer le raid de Gananoque et la lutte pour le Canada, grâce à un investissement du gouvernement du Canada. C'est ce qu'a annoncé aujourd'hui M. Gord Brown, député de Leeds-Grenville, au nom de l'honorable James Moore, ministre du Patrimoine canadien et des Langues officielles.  

Le 200e anniversaire de la guerre de 1812 est important pour la municipalité de Gananoque, car son fondateur, Joel Stone, était un colonel des forces britanniques loyalistes. Il a défendu sa municipalité et sa région contre l'invasion américaine pendant la guerre.

Grâce à ce financement, le Lions Club de Gananoque présentera « Celebrating Our Roots - Where It All Began », une commémoration communautaire qui comprendra des reconstitutions historiques, des concerts et pièces de théâtre, ainsi qu'une promenade patrimoniale dirigée par des artistes et interprètes patrimoniaux de la région. En plus de cette célébration, le Club des Lions a aussi entrepris de construire une passerelle menant au parc patrimonial Joel Stone.

« Les Canadiens nous ont confié un mandat clair, celui de souligner les événements importants comme le 200e anniversaire de la guerre de 1812, la lutte pour le Canada, a déclaré le ministre Moore. En appuyant cette commémoration, notre gouvernement honore son engagement à stimuler notre économie et à soutenir notre culture et notre patrimoine. »

« Les projets comme visant à commémorer d'importants événements historiques sont d'excellentes occasions pour les Canadiens de se réunir et d'exprimer la fierté que leur inspire le Canada, a ajouté M. Brown. L'investissement annoncé aujourd'hui permettra à cette communauté de partager avec leurs concitoyens un chapitre déterminant dans l'histoire de notre pays. »

« La célébration du bicentenaire de la guerre de 1812 est l'occasion pour les citoyens de la région de Gananoque/Mille-Îles de célébrer leur patrimoine, de s'intéresser à leur histoire et de raviver leur patriotisme et leur nationalisme, a expliqué M. John McLeod, directeur du Lions Club de Gananoque. L'économie de la région, qui a été touchée par la fermeture de plusieurs entreprises au cours des dernières années, profitera elle aussi de cette célébration en raison du tourisme accru et de la mise en valeur des projets communautaires. »

Le gouvernement du Canada a accordé cet appui de 96 620 dollars sur deux ans par l'entremise du programme Développement des communautés par le biais des arts et du patrimoine du ministère du Patrimoine canadien. Ce programme vise à offrir aux Canadiens davantage d'occasions de participer à des activités qui mettent en évidence les arts et la culture de la scène locale ou qui célèbrent l'histoire et le patrimoine d'une région.

L'information sur les activités prévues sera affichée sur le site Web du 200e anniversaire de la guerre de 1812 à www.1812.gc.ca.

Il est maintenant possible de télécharger l'application officielle du gouvernement du Canada pour téléphone cellulaire et de consulter le site mobile qui contient de l'information sur les commémorations, les batailles importantes, les héros de guerre et les lieux historiques nationaux qui y sont associés. Le site contient également des outils interactifs qui seront mis à jour au cours des mois précédant le bicentenaire de la guerre de 1812.

 

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements (membre des médias seulement), communiquez avec :

Sébastien Gariépy
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre du Patrimoine canadien
et des Langues officielles
819-997-7788

Relations avec les médias
Patrimoine canadien
819-994-9101
1-866-569-6155
media@pch.gc.ca